Why Do I Care?

A few weeks ago, someone asked me: Why do you care about what religious people think? Why can’t you just go on living your life, letting people believe what they want to? Why must you attack and fight against religion? 

About five or six years ago, while I was still a student at Carleton University (Ottawa, Canada), I attended an exhibition and talk on Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) at the university. I can’t recall the details of the event – the date or the organizers – but there was something I could never forget. There was this one photo of a young girl, probably aged 9 or 10 years old, sitting in a pool of blood and urine, with a discarded razor not far away. What bothered me was that the girl wasn’t crying, the salt lines of dried tears were visible on her face, but there was something horrifying in her eyes – they were dead and hollow.

I wasn’t vocal about my anti-religious stance back then, and neither did I become one right after that experience. As the years passed, I began rationalizing the world around me, coming to the conclusion that I am an Anti-Theist and a Humanist. Throughout this journey of discovery, I never forgot that horrifying image of that little girl. The eyes, those morbid eyes, never left me.

I am no hero or saviour, nor do I intend to be one. However, if there’s even one person in this world being subjected to such abhorrent evil, we must care. We must fight against it, we must annihilate the source of this injustice. There are many more malfeasance being perpetrated by religion – rape, murder, slavery, oppression, homophobia, and genocide, to name a few. I must oppose these moral crimes, not because I hate religion, but because I cherish humanity. If we don’t care for the weak and the innocent, the helpless and the oppressed, who will then? God? I don’t think so.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Why Do I Care?

  1. krissthesexyatheist says:

    Whoa…hold the line. I fer-got sumthin. when Greta Christain came to our humble town in Nor-Cal i asked her “WTF, why care.” She basically said, and I agree, because there has been too much damage done (LGBT, feminism etc…). We are not attacking…we are reacting. OK, I’m done now, buddy.

    Kriss

  2. krissthesexyatheist says:

    Buddy. i call it the battle for secular society. Awesomeness,

    Kriss

  3. ZachsMind says:

    Reblogged this on ZachsMind and commented:
    reposting this here cuz i don’t wanna lose it.

    I am an anti-theist but i am not a humanist. I’m an absurdist, which my spellchecker says isn’t even a word. I think the mindset that humanity matters at all in the face of the size and scope of this universe is just as irrational as any religion. We are, for all intents and purposes, a cosmic joke, and any purpose we have in this life is what we make for ourselves, cuz the rest of the universe doesn’t really care what we do. I know this is an unpopular opinion. I don’t care. I can’t care. The evidence points away from your opinion, if you believe mankind has either a divine or secular purpose. I can’t make up evidence that proves you correct. I don’t know how to care that you are wrong and I don’t want to learn.

    However, i hope we can agree on this: circumcision is an archaic practice that has no relevant scientific medical value whatsoever and should be stopped immediately if not sooner. If you can’t agree w/me on that sentence, then please stop reading cuz I don’t want to talk to you anymore.

    If you can agree w/me here, then at least we have some common ground. Now I’m not gonna fight to stop it, cuz I don’t believe violence does anything but add to whatever problem you’re trying to fix. I don’t know if it’s even possible to annihilate the source of this, cuz religion has been around a very long time. But I have to care. I can’t not care. I don’t know how not to care, and I don’t want to learn.

    But i admit it leaves me feeling pretty impotent. I cannot count the number of generations of men and women perpetuating circumcision on their offspring cuz they believe their god told them to do it. It’s a manipulative act of the church, and a symbol of the power of an institutionalized belief over the individual’s right to exist as he or she came out of the womb.The decision is usually made before the individual is old enough to have a say. This reinforces in the individual the ‘fact’ that the religious institution has domain over you. Your god made you, but your church ‘fixed’ you.

    That alone is fiendish, but to somehow convince a person to do it to herself after infancy and before adulthood, as a way of proving her fealty..? Is THAT what this is? That’s sick. It’s depraved, and even if they could prove their god exists and even if that god explained to me directly why circumcision is so important, I’d still spit in that god’s face. It’s wrong. Nothing can make it right. There are no apologetics. There are no excuses. A god doesn’t get to pretend to be a good guy after demanding this of its followers, and any bad guy worth his salt would find much better ways to be evil. This is petty & pathetic as evil goes.

    The act of circumcision is ultimately proof against the very god that religion claims exists.

    This universe could not have possibly been made by an omniscient omnipotent being with a conscience. There’s your final nail in the coffin of religious faith.

  4. ZachsMind says:

    I am an anti-theist but i am not a humanist. I’m an absurdist, which my spellchecker says isn’t even a word. I think the mindset that humanity matters at all in the face of the size and scope of this universe is just as irrational as any religion. We are, for all intents and purposes, a cosmic joke, and any purpose we have in this life is what we make for ourselves, cuz the rest of the universe doesn’t really care what we do. I know this is an unpopular opinion. I don’t care. I can’t care. The evidence points away from your opinion, if you believe mankind has either a divine or secular purpose. I can’t make up evidence that proves you correct. I don’t know how to care that you are wrong and I don’t want to learn.

    However, i hope we can agree on this: circumcision is an archaic practice that has no relevant scientific medical value whatsoever and should be stopped immediately if not sooner. If you can’t agree w/me on that sentence, then please stop reading cuz I don’t want to talk to you anymore.

    If you can agree w/me here, then at least we have some common ground. Now I’m not gonna fight to stop it, cuz I don’t believe violence does anything but add to whatever problem you’re trying to fix. I don’t know if it’s even possible to annihilate the source of this, cuz religion has been around a very long time. But I have to care. I can’t not care. I don’t know how not to care, and I don’t want to learn.

    But i admit it leaves me feeling pretty impotent. I cannot count the number of generations of men and women perpetuating circumcision on their offspring cuz they believe their god told them to do it. It’s a manipulative act of the church, and a symbol of the power of an institutionalized belief over the individual’s right to exist as he or she came out of the womb.The decision is usually made before the individual is old enough to have a say. This reinforces in the individual the ‘fact’ that the religious institution has domain over you. Your god made you, but your church ‘fixed’ you.

    That alone is fiendish, but to somehow convince a person to do it to herself after infancy and before adulthood, as a way of proving her fealty..? Is THAT what this is? That’s sick. It’s depraved, and even if they could prove their god exists and even if that god explained to me directly why circumcision is so important, I’d still spit in that god’s face. It’s wrong. Nothing can make it right. There are no apologetics. There are no excuses. A god doesn’t get to pretend to be a good guy after demanding this of its followers, and any bad guy worth his salt would find much better ways to be evil. This is petty & pathetic as evil goes.

    The act of circumcision is ultimately proof against the very god that religion claims exists.

    This universe could not have possibly been made by an omniscient omnipotent being with a conscience. There’s your final nail in the coffin of religious faith.

    • Chris Lim says:

      “Circumcision is an archaic practice that has no relevant scientific medical value whatsoever and should be stopped immediately if not sooner.”

      Absolutely! Circumcision is a cruel act, commanded by “god”, carried out by men.

      “But I have to care. I can’t not care. I don’t know how not to care, and I don’t want to learn.”

      We must care, if not the weak and helpless will be bullied and abuse by the tyranny of religion.

  5. Larry says:

    Very provocative and insightful. Thanks, it’s made me think.

    • Jay Bahl says:

      There are days I wished I did not care. I get tired, and frustrated. But then I remember when I realy did not care. and I see peole that do not care. Exsept about there own pain, and what they need to do to stop the pain. That is why I care, because the alternitive has no value.

Leave a Reply

